Redistricting is the process of redrawing the boundaries of election districts to ensure that the people of each district are equally represented. This process begins once the federal census is completed every 10 years. Using data from the 2020 Census, new boundaries are determined that reflect both: population changes over the past decade and also ensure each district has approximately the same number of people.

The Minnesota State Legislature is responsible for redistricting Minnesota's congressional districts, Minnesota Senate and House districts, and Metropolitan Council districts. Local governments are responsible for redistricting the remaining election districts, such as: county commissioners, school boards, and city council wards. 

The Redistricting plan was adopted by the City Council on March 22, 2022. New ward and precinct boundaries will be in effect for the state primary election in August 2022.

To view the updated Ward and Precinct Map, click here

  1. 2010


Ward 1 - 6,091

Ward 2 - 5,821

Ward 3 - 5,817

Ward 4 - 5,939

  1. 2020
  2. Growth


Ward 1 - 6,275

Ward 2 - 7,007

Ward 3 - 7,902

Ward 4 - 6,462

Based on data from the 2020 census, Ramsey's population grew from 23,668 residents to 27,646 residents - a 17% increase since the 2010 census. Redistricting will help further balance the population in each of Ramsey's wards, which should be as equal in population as practicable. Wards are portions of a city represented by a specific elected official on the City Council. As outlined in the City Charter, the Ramsey Council includes seven elected officials, one from each of the City's four wards, two serving at-large, and the Mayor, also elected at-large.

More information on redistricting can be found at the Secretary of State's Office and the Minnesota Legislature.